In A World Of My Own {and Loving It}

“If everybody minded their own business, the world would go around a great deal faster than it does.” 

― Lewis Caroll, Alice in Wonderland

Ever since I was little, I have been accused of living in my own world and “flying too high” in my dreams and imagination (as if it’s a bad thing?!). Guess what? Now that I am older and I have gotten a good chance to look around, travel and observe I can tell you for a fact that everyone lives in a world of their own. Sure, there is conventional reality on which we have collectively agreed upon, but everyone’s particular world is built by childhood programming, dominant beliefs, cultural conditioning and religious dogma, memories, and all the habitual patters of thinking and feeling, adopted consciously or unconsciously. Our mind projects all that on the screen of consciousness and we get to experience our inner world without. That simple.

look inside – “luminous beings are we, not this crude matter”

Knowing this has been so liberating. I don’t argue with anyone anymore – if they hold different beliefs that contradict mine, I simply agree with them and let it go. It’s all opinions, anyway, in this dream within a dream. Children’s books have contained the truth all along, so grateful I have devoured many of them.

“Grown-ups never understand anything by themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them”

― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

My dear friend Lucille wrote this beautiful children’s book full of wisdom, you can find it on amazon

If there is something you don’t like in your current reality, you can simply shift your focus away from it and see it as you wish to be in imagination. Where attention goes, energy flows, so why not focus on your dreams instead of your fears? People always complain about the state of the world based on what they see on the tele-vision, but my experiences have shown me otherwise. Through Housesitting, Workaway, couch surfing, and simply living with an open heart, I have met nothing but kind, generous, loving people who have shared their homes, pets, food, wisdom and dreams with me. We attract what we are, so when you have peace, love and joy in your heart and mind, you meet them everywhere outside of you. The collective world we live in has been created by us, and if we want to change it we need to change individually first. How? By telling ourselves new stories. The past repeats itself only because we keep regurgitating it. Time to wipe the slate clean, rise to higher levels of consciousness and see anew all the magic and miracles that surround us 🙂

“Have I gone mad?

I am afraid so, but let me tell you something, the best people usually are.” 

― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

when we focus on the beauty of life, we see more of it

* We knit our reality…* 💫
🌈 ′′ Grandpa, can I ask you why I see you sitting on that bench on the court every afternoon and you smile towards the sun?”
🌈 The old man slowly lowered his head, stopped briefly, looked at him with great tenderness and replied with great peace: ′′ I knit “.
🌈 The boy smiled. ′′ How do you knit grandfather without wool and needles?”
🌈 ′′ I knit realities “, said the old man.
🌈 ′′ It may seem like I’m not doing anything here “, he continued, ′′ but by staying calm, I let my heart create a harmonious environment. I also bless everyone passing by this place with my thoughts and intentions to have the best day. This is how I knit.
🌈 I always greet them with love, I smile at them openly, and when I see them sad, I lift my stick and say, come on, it’ll be fine. I also ask the birds to help me give them strength through their singing because their wonderful sounds revitalize and heal “.
🌈 The boy was absolutely amazed. He couldn’t believe what he was hearing.
🌈 ′′ In this glowing task of contributing to the creation of harmonious environments, I am not alone “, the old man said.
He spread his arms and shouted:
′′ Look at the beauty the trees are emanating. Smell the wonderful fragrance the flowers share with us without asking for anything. Look at these bees tireless work and see how free the dogs play.
🌈 Feel the wind caress you. Existence knits too, in its own way. In my case, I like to knit with light threads, so every afternoon I open my heart for the sun rays to kick in, pet me and anchor themselves on the ground along with my purest feelings so that Mother Earth feels how much I love her “.
🌈 Finally, the old man stressed: ′′ No matter how old we are, we all can help weave the fabric of a more conscious, sensitive, solidarity and humane world by letting our best intentions travel beyond borders.
🌈 We can also radiate a lot of love so that wounds close, hearts open and everyone reaches their maximum potential to discover the transformational power of simple things “.
🌈 The boy’s eyes started to shine. And at that moment the boy gratefully whispered, ′′ I’m going home grandpa. I have to tell my mom all this because she who is one of the people I love most in this world still knits with wool and needles “.
– Julius Andrés Pagano

love all, for all is you

So many teaches have expressed these eternal truths over and over again, and we all know them deep inside. Time to remember and put them into practice – always starting with the man in the mirror. I am creating my world as I speak, literally, and as I do I am seeing the highest version of you happy, healthy, loving and loved in your own dream. Let’s play together and imagine the best that we can for ourselves and the planet! Here are some Buddha quotes for inspiration:

We are light

We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make the world.

Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth.

You only lose what you cling to.

The mind is everything. What you think you become.

Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.

Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.

All that we are is the result of what we have thought.

Health is the greatest gift, contentment the greatest wealth, faithfulness the best relationship.

Hatred does not cease by hatred, but only by love; this is the eternal rule.

It is better to travel well than to arrive.

Cats make the world a better place 😉

This entry was published on February 22, 2021 at 1:51 am. It’s filed under photo essay, This and That and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “In A World Of My Own {and Loving It}

  1. Michelle Anne on said:

    Cats do make the world a better place. Slava, I hope you are well. I have tried texting/reaching out a few times over the past few years but not sure if you have the same phone number. It’s Michelle Anne saying HI and I miss you and hope you are well. I stumbled upon your blog recently and have been catching up with you my friend!

  2. Pingback: Write Your Own… Fairy Tale (No Prince/Princess or Magical Wand Needed) | Slava Bowman Photography

  3. Pingback: Why NOT? :-P – THINGFINDER

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.