Hawaii… Why?

Today marks exactly a month since I set foot in Hawaii. I bet you are wondering why? 🙂

IMG_4793

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” I did a lot of traveling back in 2015, and I realized that I want to keep doing that. Hawaii has always been on my list of places to visit – surrounded by ocean, abundance of tropical fruit, home of coffee and cacao, slower pace of life and no snakes. Sounds like my kind of Paradise.

IMG_3841

If you have been following my blog/Facebook page you know I’ve been on a downsizing kick lately.  It’s hard to travel freely when you have a lot of bills/stuff to come back to, so I decided to bring my possessions to a minimum. My wonderful friends were happy to “borrow” some of my artwork and furniture, and allow me to store the reminder of my stuff (some clothes, shoes, computer, paperwork and camera accessories) in their homes.

IMG_4265

Free of unnecessary baggage, I was able to embark on a one-way journey to my destination of choice: The Big Island of Hawaii in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. Excitement is all I felt, since I love discovering new places!

new home

This is not a holiday, it’s an adventure. I did not work really hard for months, to save a lot of money and stay at a really nice resort. There is nothing wrong with that, it’s just that I spent the months prior to flying to Hawaii traveling and doing what I love. Part of the idea of coming here was to live a life closer to nature, eat locally grown produce and be of service to people who need help. What made all this possible and provided me with free accommodation in exchange for 25 hours of work a week is an awesome website called Workaway. 

pineapple

This is how my Hawaiian adventure began a month ago. Since then I have planted at least 30 pineapples, tons of tomato plants, peppers, beans, lettuce, Swiss chard, and so much more…

IMG_4848

… I’ve been eating fresh bananas 0ff the tree every day – no spray!…

IMG_4784

… I have visited magical black and white sand beaches…

IMG_4632

… I have made friends with lots of geckos (they eat mosquitoes)…

LF8A4001

…I have seen many amazing sunsets and I keep marveling at the way the Sun disappears in the mystical space where the Sky meets the Ocean…

IMG_4571

… I have hiked many miles along the road, through lava fields, across the sand, up and down the volcanic hills…

IMG_4216.jpg

… I have hitch-hiked for the first time in my life and then many more times after that, meeting a host of warm-hearted people willing to help a stranger in need…

IMG_4739

… I have discovered a new love for papaya – the ripe ones from the tree cannot even compare to the ones I have had from the store back in MO…

IMG_4838

… I’ve acquired a new/old pair of shoes when my flip-flops fell apart while walking along the road to the nearby coffee shop, and I had to frolic barefoot to the thrift store across the street to find these flats for $2 that happen to match my dress…

LF8A3834

… I have been enchanted by all the tropical trees/plants I see and I keep marveling at the myriad varieties of fruit/flowers…

IMG_4690

… I have been enjoying cooking plant-based dishes and exploring new flavors, textures and recipes (jack fruit wraps are so delicious)…

gardening

… I have abandoned the mirror, and I have embraced the jeans and bun lifestyle…

IMG_4918

…I have been enjoying every minute, knowing that the small things are the big things…

IMG_4512

… I have seen many a dead animal along the road  – a great reminder that we are here for a short time, and we should find what is it that we love to do and do it with joy…

IMG_4350

… and I have just been me, doing the things that make me happy and alive, not tying myself to a definition of who I have been or burdening myself with ambitions of becoming someone. 

“We are visitors on this planet. We are here for one hundred years at the very most. During that period we must try to do something good, something useful, with our lives. If you contribute to other people’s happiness, you will find the true meaning of life.”

― Dalai Lama XIV

LF8A3961

“There is not a fragment in all nature, for every relative fragment of one thing is a full harmonious unit in itself.”
― John MuirThe Wilderness World of John Muir

IMG_4919

“To live content with small means; to seek elegance rather than luxury, and refinement rather than fashion; to be worthy, not respectable, and wealthy, not, rich; to listen to stars and birds, babes and sages, with open heart; to study hard; to think quietly, act frankly, talk gently, await occasions, hurry never; in a word, to let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious, grow up through the common. This is my symphony.”
― William Ellery Channing

Inspiration (movie, video, book) from this week:

The French Documentary “Terra” (available on Netflix)

http://robgreenfield.tv/atitlanorganics/

Peace Pilgrim’s Book 

Warm aloha and lots of smiles,

Slava 🙂

This entry was published on May 7, 2016 at 8:12 am. It’s filed under This and That, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “Hawaii… Why?

  1. Ron Emig on said:

    Enjoy the adventure…memories you will remember forever

  2. Thank you, Слава! You radiate happiness and we share it with you!
    It is contagious …
    Tatyana and Peter

  3. Kristen on said:

    Your happiness is infectious! I very much enjoy reading about your adventures 🙂

  4. windmill on said:

    This is so awesome!!! So happy you are happy… LOVE LOVE LOVE!!

  5. Maya Borissova on said:

    You know how to live – loving yourself and the world around. That’s why I admire you and I love you so much! 💝💝💝

    • Миличка Мая, I love you too! Thank you so much for your sweet words and encouragement! Most of the time I have no clue what I am doing, but it’s true that whatever it is I try to do it with love 💝💝💝

  6. Bill Dodsworth on said:

    Hello Slava! Such a wonderful adventure! I’m jealous (in a good way). My wife’s father was born and raised on O’ahu. We have been to Hawaii several times but only for a week or two. Once I retire, we are planning to go live on O’ahu for a couple of months. I want to experience life more as a local than a tourist. We will likely rent a house but I was facinated with Workaway. What a cool idea. I loved reading about your adventures on the big island. I’ll figure out how to sign up for your blog. You are living the dream. Love the quote about happy and alive and not tying yourself to the past or ambition of becoming someone. You are very wise young lady! All the best! Aloha!

    • Aloha Bill!! Thank you so much for your comment!!! You will love living in Hawai’i for a bit – everything here is so amazing! I’ve only been on the Big Island, but hope to explore the other ones too. My favorite is eating all the tropical fruit – it’s mango season now and they are so good! Just had my first strawberry guava today, and I have tried so many different kinds of bananas! Already on my second Workaway, and the place where I am now has the most amazing ocean/sunset views. It’s definitely a wonderful way to experience a place like the locals do, if you have the time and don’t mind to do a little bit of work. I love growing food (and eating it ;-), so the work is more like play 🙂 I haven’t been taking as many pictures with my camera, simply enjoying every minute of the slower pace of life here. Have a wonderful rest of the week and thank you so much for following my blog! I always enjoy looking at your stunning pictures on Facebook, Samantha approved 😉

Leave a Reply

