My Story…Through a Different Lens

{As posted on FASHION BOUDOIR BY RODRIGO PINEDA PHOTOGRAPHY}

“A flower does not think of competing to the flower next to it. It just blooms.”
― Zen Shin

So happy to have met these other two beautiful blooms in the flower patch – Samantha & Rodrigo Pineda  

This is how we co-create! Read/see more about my Fashion Boudoir By Rodrigo Pineda experience below: 

 

Rodrigo+Pineda+Photography

“New Beginnings” by Rodrigo Pineda

As a photographer, boudoir photographer by that, one of the hardest things for me is to step in front of somebody else’s camera. Yet, I do know how important pictures of yourself can be to help you put together the delightful puzzle of your own beautiful, complex and intricate personality.

We tend to go through life wearing masks and playing roles, and rarely find or make time to face and explore who we are and what we want. My journey back towards my true self began with an accidental self-portrait taken for my 365project.org. One led to many others, and for the past 7 years, armed with a tripod and a remote, I have taken thousands of pictures of myself expressing, documenting & cataloguing passing feelings, emotions & states of being. As my favorite, Anais Nin, put it, “How can I accept a limited definable self when I feel, in me, all possibilities?… I never feel the four walls around the substance of the self, the core. I feel only space. Illimitable space.”

Rodrigo+Pineda+Photography2

“You are a volume in the divine book
A mirror to the power that created the universe
Whatever you want, ask it of yourself
Whatever you’re looking for can only be found
Inside of you”
Jalaluddin Rumi

Looking back at all these pictures of myself, I can trace my own journey until this point, consisting of finding, embodying & photographing all these various selves and integrating them within the broad spectrum of my personality. Being in front of my own camera felt slightly awkward only in the beginning, and in time became a second nature. However,  agreeing to do a shoot with Rodrigo and Samantha was pretty terrifying at first. And it was all my idea… I love them both and they are wonderful friends of mine that I feel comfortable around, yet there was a nervousness in me… However, what pushed me into doing the shoot was the important part of not only knowing and owning my own truth, but being able to speak, share & live it. I have embraced all parts of myself and love the whole being I have become, but how would others know or get inspired to follow their soul if I did not show it?

Ironically, just like what I tell my own clients, I found first hand that boudoir shoots are a lot of fun! It’s like playing dress up and then pretending to be a fashion model all at once! The moment I entered the studio, all I felt was excitement! Samantha did my hair and make-up (she has the most gentle hands), and scored big time on both – knowing me, she went for a more natural look and she gave me the most beautiful curls!! The latter had me jumping up and down, so I was more than ready to stand in front of the camera! Rodrigo knows his settings and lighting, and Samantha was so wonderful at guiding me into each pose/making me laugh! The two are the perfect pair, and the whole time during the shoot I relaxed completely in their hands, being in the moment and going with the flow. Strangely enough, they were able to get even more parts of my personality out, making me see myself in a different light. Just like with my self portraits, yet so much more enjoyable when the energy is shared! Resembling the yin, yang principle, having a male & female photographer team adds a wholeness to the experience that translates into gorgeous images. What Rodrigo and Samantha gave me was a beautiful celebration of my true self, now in full bloom. It’s never too early late to start on the journey back to yourself. How about now? 😉

Rodrigo+Pineda+Photography3

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”

My personality keeps expanding and unfolding and if I were to do another shoot in the future, I am definitely going back to these two! Being vulnerable in front of another is the first step to setting yourself free. Get to know who you are – if you don’t know who you are, how can you love all the beautiful parts that make you? ♥

P.S. I know I already wrote a lot, but there is always more to be added to the amazing experience Samantha and Rodrigo provide to their clients! Let me tell you, they know how to reveal your images to you! As soon as I walked into the studio, Samantha invited me to sit on the couch and my Signature Image was looming large projected on the wall in front of me. You know the feeling when there is something that you want, but you cannot quite picture/envision it, yet you know you will know it immediately when you see it? Well, I was in awe and in love! The one photo that I wanted, that made me overcome my fear of being in front of somebody else’s camera, was manifested in front of my eyes and it was stunning! So much better than what I could have imagined! I just kept staring at it in disbelief, wondering how it was possible for Rodrigo to do that based on the very little I was able to explain about what I wanted. These two are not photographers, they are true artists! A photo does not mean finding the right light, clicking the shutter and spitting out an image. A photo is an active creation on the part of the photographer born in their imagination before it is recognized in the manifested world, captured with skill and brought to life using years of experience and artistic vision. If you are looking for art that you can enjoy for years to come, definitely have a Fashion Boudoir Shoot with Rodrigo and Samantha! I loved all my images and I cannot thank them enough for the amazing experience and the photos I have to treasure. Oh, and they give you wine to sip on while looking through your photos! 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

P.S. Strangely enough, I only trust male photographers to take my photos… My first ever boudoir shoot with my friend Weng, back in blogging history… click here to get reminded 😉

This entry was published on April 30, 2017 at 8:54 pm. It’s filed under Boudoir, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

