A Day In The Life Of…Slava

“How we spend our days is of course how we spend our lives,” Annie Dillard wisely observed, and this quote has stayed with me ever since I first read it some years ago. If our life on Earth is the sum total of all of our individual days, what we do during each interval of precious 24 hours suddenly seems to matter a tad more… My friend Shawn suggested I write a blog post on what a typical day of mine looks like, so here it goes…

photo 5 copy

And, above all, all we need is LOVE…

My days used to be a lot more scheduled/structured when I was in school, however after moving out and going to University they took on the flow that fits my creative personality much better. Namely, they are subject to whims, moods and synchronicities, never the same one from the other and from morning till evening. They change with the weather (literally, I fluctuate between two different people when the Sun is out and as soon as the clouds settle in), they move with the season, and they take their own shape with very little control on my part. The main driving force behind everything that I tend to fill my days with is whatever brings me joy. I constantly drop things that no longer serve my highest good and I keep an inner inventory going to stay on track with my purpose/soul mission.

P.S. Before you create this idea in your head about my glamorous life, make sure you read the disclaimer at the end of this post 😉

photo 5

My life is a creative chaos that I effortlessly navigate/flow through and I love it.

Morning: Since I rarely remember yesterday, let me tell you what I did today. I am currently pet sitting, so the dogs wake me up a couple of minutes before sunrise. I get up, let them out in the yard, marvel the sky, let them back in, and with eyes half-closed crawl back in bed. Can’t go back to sleep, so I watch/listen to videos on YouTube. An hour passes by. The dogs are on the move again, waiting to be fed. I get up once more, feed them and put water on for tea (my dad is a Physics Major and has forever ruined microwaves for me). Lately I start my days with one of the following (or all in a roll): lemon water/yerba mate/stinging nettle tea/a glass of water (I suddenly dropped coffee two months ago, going with what my body tells me) . I drink my tea in the back yard, basking in the Sun. Then I check my e-mails/messages, don’t reply to them, and listen to more music/videos. I also soak chia seeds for my breakfast.

photo 3

This morning it was lemon water. If you add honey, don’t do boiling water, use warm instead.

Mid-Morning: Another cup of tea and I might reply to those e-mails/finish editing photos/see if I have anything scheduled in my calendar/read a book/make some phone calls/answer messages. If I need to get ready to go somewhere, I do. If not, I walk around in the cozy comfort my robe/sleeping shirt/jammies. Today I meet up with a friend for lunch, so before that I vaccum the dog hair, take a shower, get dressed and then leave to see her. If I stay home, I usually make something for lunch – like a big salad or sautéed veggies or whatever I have on hand/comes to mind. I have been enjoying a plant-based for about 15 months now, and feeling so good. I will write a post with some of my favorite recipes/foods (as per Stacy’s suggestion, as well).

photo 4

Today lunch was the new beet & black bean burger at Blue Duck in Maplewood – so yummy!! Enjoyed in the company of a good friend 🙂

Afternoon: I love walking, so depending on the season/weather I usually make time for a walk every day. In summer I go early in the morning before it gets too hot, in spring I can do any time of day, in winter I venture out in the mid-afternoon. When I am out walking, whether on the street/in a park, I feel most alive. I am very centered into myself/thoughts/emotions, and new connections emerge/ideas surface. I rarely get in a funk, but if I do I know it’s because I have not been outside enough. Once I figure that out, I go out for a walk, to “clear my head” so to say –  it always makes it all better. Sometimes I call a friend or they reach out and we go for a walk together or drink coffee/tea and chat. I love to leave my days flexible/open, so I can always accommodate my friends and their needs. Lately we have been enjoying very spontaneous communication, like “What are you doing tonight?” – “”Going out for dinner with you!”

photo 4 copy

After lunch I took a detour to a nearby park and enjoyed swinging on the swing. Then walked back home (the house where I am staying, the whole world feels like home to me).

Evening: If I am not meeting a friend/s for dinner, I usually make my own and share with whoever is around/take it to friends’ house/eat by myself. I make a point to watch the sunset every day, and I sometimes go out for evening walks at dusk. Lately I have been making time to swing (on a swing, in the park) – it reminds me of being a child and brings me so much joy! Little kids see me and they want to swing too. I go pretty high, so I show them how to do it. 🙂 When the night sets in, it’s my creative time – this is when I edit photos, write blog posts, watch more videos on YouTube, listen to music, read books. I very much enjoy my alone time and an evening spent with a cup of tea and a good read is a bliss for me. When the weather is nice, I like to go out and stare at the stars/moon before I go to bed {missing Hawaii for that part, and my evening beach walks with my feet in the water}. I go to bed when I feel sleepy, no set time.

photo 1 copy

A big salad is my go-to meal, trying to use mainly what is in season.

Work: I love what I do, so I call it play. Doing photography allows me the flexibility to move with my own pace throughout my days. I schedule photo shoots any day of the week/at any time, and I work the rest of my unplanned dayhood around them. I enjoy taking the photos, and editing them in my own time. The latter takes a lot more hours and makes my creative juices flow. On as needed basis I play catch up and send out e-mails, update my Facebook page, work on client’s orders, reply to requests/injuries/voice mails, go to the bank and /or pay off my credit card. The best is that I do not need an office for what I do, my camera and laptop fit in a backpack I bring everywhere with me.

photo 1

Working in the comforts of home has its advantages.

Service: Living the way that I do, I have found that I need very little in life. The essentials for me are clean air, fresh water, sunlight, good food, shelter and human connection. I do not crave things, I’d rather fill my days with experiences. Less stuff means needing less money which equates into less work and more free time. Lately my focus has been on gifting/sharing the latter. I have been blessed with a wonderful circle of family and friends, and I love to spend my time doing things for/with them.  From organizing their closets/cleaning their home/doing laundry/cooking a meal to babysitting/helping them garden/going to the store together/taking pictures for them/lending a listening ear – I love it all! Since my family is away, my friends here have turned into my soul family (as I call them) and they have always been there for me. Offering them a fraction of my time is the least I can do/only natural/feels wonderful.

photo 2

When you give you get and vice versa, especially when you do it anchored in love and with no expectations. My awesome friend gave me a bunch of clothes she no longer wears and I have been loving them! Such are the goofy selfies I send her… 😉

Odds and Ends:

Throughout my day I spent about an hour talking on the phone – usually with my family or with very few friends who live further away. Face-to-face communication has been my preferred method of relating lately. I believe that wherever I am I should be there fully, and presence outweighs staying in ‘every-single-detail-of-my-life’ touch.

A lot of days I feel like a switch board – I read so many articles online and if I find them meaningful/see them as relevant to somebody I know I share them/pass them along.

I am really good at processing information and relaying it and I also compare myself to a Nokia phone – I love connecting people. Before I leave town, I always make sure to introduce my new friends to people I think they will mesh with, so they are not lonely when I am gone.

I love to snack throughout the day and I enjoy cooking/playing with food when I feel like it.

I love taking baths and cat naps at any time of the day. I also like to daydream/stare in space and imagine things/think good thoughts.

Good light is my downfall, when the camera is near I immediately reach for it and come up with a photo.

photo 3 copy

Greens and things.

Different objects/songs/moods/clothes/surroundings inspire me to take self portraits mid-day. When this happens, I quickly rearrange all furniture, come up with a support for my camera (not one to lug a tripod at all times) and click away with my remote.

My door is always open for my friends any time of day. For strangers to, if they reach out.

I stop and smell the flowers in other people’s yards (lately, lilacs).

I love going to little shops and buying little things or just browsing.

Many times a day I stare at the Sun. When I am out with someone, I always pick to sit facing the Sun (nobody likes that anyway, so it always works out in my favor).

I love visiting my cat and spending time with her. I love spending time with any cat/s.

photo 3

Face off

Lately I have been a having hermit day followed by a going-out-and-meeting-lots-of-friends-running-errands day. Usually the first is when it’s cloudy/rainy, and the latter when it’s sunny. Both moods happen in one day too. I honor how I feel and go by that.

I do not like plans set in stone. If you cancel an appointment with me, as long as you do it a bit in advance, I do not mind at all. I’d rather meet up with people when they feel like it and  I honor myself in the same way. My friends know that, we simply give each other the freedom to be.

My days are never the same… I start with a vague idea of what I would like to do, to watch it drift into a completely different direction because a friend calls/I get wrapped up in a book/I decide to soak in the bath tub for an hour/I have a cook-a-thon/I go out to do one thing and do not come back until evening. I never know how a day will go, and I love it. My natural rhythm moves me like that and I follow it, to make things easy.

photo 2

Forever go-to anytime of day: a book, a good snack, coffee/tea.

Life is too short to live it any other way but the way we want to.

Here are the top five regrets of the dying:
  • I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  • I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.
  • I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  • I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  • I wish that I had let myself be happier.

{source: https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2012/feb/01/top-five-regrets-of-the-dying}

photo 2

The motto that governs my days/life: “Whatever makes your soul happy, do that.” If we do  not take care of ourselves first, we don’t have a way to take care of others. The same goes to respect, love, happines, peace, etc. – first we need to find/cultivate the quality we seek within, in order to be able to see it mirrored/shine it without.

{https://healingandlove.com/2013/04/25/the-universal-law-of-as-within-so-without/}

holsteemanifesto

My daily reminder 🙂

Disclaimer: On the outside, my life might appear a breeze, and to me it is. However, this life is not for everyone. Actually, this life is for nobody else but me. It has taken me 33 years and countless experiencess/people/books/looking within to get in the groove of it. I am still doing it all over again daily. However, these are my waters and I was born with everything needed to effortlessly flow through them. The moment I fully surrendered to that knowing and stopped trying to navigate/control my course ( I am a Leo, so I naturally never allow others to do that), it’s when I truly started living. I have experienced intervals of being alive before, but now I see no reason to put an end to them. It can be compared to the first time ever I went skiing (at night, on a slope for pros) and every time I started speeding up I would intentionally fall, afraid of how fast I was going. Well, I am not afraid anymore and I am loving the speed. It has its ebbs and flows and as long as I listen to the voice inside that does not use words, I am ok. 🙂

P.P.S. This only roughly reflects my life in the past two months or so – it’s all subjects to change again and again very soon 🙂

photo 1

We are not born to fit in a mold and live the same kind of lives. We are born to stand out and shine. Why compete, when we can cooperate? Why be the same, when we can enjoy our differences? There are no small parts, only small actors.

KT Tunstall – Suddenly I See (Larger Than Life Version)

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

– Marianne Williamson

Leaving you with my favorite, Alan Watts (I love his videos on YouTube).

Alan Watts & David Lindberg – Why Your Life Is Not A Journey

This entry was published on April 21, 2017 at 5:17 am. It’s filed under How To-s, Musings, This and That, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

