Good Reads

“So many books, so little time,” Frank Zappa said {or, at least, goodreads.com tells me so}, and I second that. My dream {as in an ideal} when I was little was to be a librarian and a re-current dream {as in when I am sleeping} I often have is that an old gentleman wills me his apartment which is full of books from floor to ceiling. Ever since I was five I’ve had a voracious appetite for reading. Funny enough, in Bulgarian we say “To Eat a Book with the Covers” when you are engulfed by a good read so much that you finish it in no time. What follows bellow is a list and visuals of such books that have made a difference in my life. Sharing is caring, and there must be truth to that since it’s been said so many times… 😉

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”
Marcus Tullius Cicero

LF8A5968

To start with, these are really easy to read, yet have a way to turn your life around if you ponder on/retain the meaning behind the printed words.

“Attitude 101” John C. Maxwell

“This is Water” David Foster Wallace

“The Four Agreements” Don Miguel Ruiz

“Your Erroneous Zones” Wayne W. Dyer

“The Power of Now” Eckhart Tolle

“A New Earth” Eckhart Tolle

“The Road of Tears” Jorge Bucay

“From Self-Esteem to Egoism” Jorge Bucay

“Stories for Thought” Jorge Bucay

“Letters for Claudia” Jorge Bucay

*

{not pictured, since I tend to lend}

“The Prophet” Khalil Gibran

“I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library.”
― Jorge Luis Borges

LF8A5970

Still lovely reads, beautifully balancing on the border of page-turner adventure novels and profoundly insightful spiritual texts. I whole-heartedly recommend each one of these and will happily re-read them if/when I need to be reminded.

“One” Richard Bach

“Illusions” Richard Bach

“Emmanuel’s Book”

“Emmanuel’s Book II”

“Emmanuel’s Book III”

“The Secret of Shambhala” James Redfield

“The Twelfth Insight” James Redfield

*

“The Celestine Prophecy” James Redfield

“The Tenth Insight” James Redfield

“The Alchemist” Paulo Coelho

“A Manuscript Found in Accra” Paulo Coelho

“Zahir” Paulo Coelho

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”
― John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

LF8A6043

Enter a caption

I love books that make me think, challenge and reshape me, encourage me to strive to be a better version of myself, continuously learning, growing and expanding. A good book to me is like a slow death of the old obsolete parts of my being and a re-birth/re-discovery of novel nuances I have had buried deep inside, patiently waiting to emerge on the surface and blossom. {these are my words, but maybe I should block-quote that? ;-)}

P.S. Do you see the dog hair in this photo? All is perfectly imperfect… 

LF8A5981

Crossing the border in the spiritual direction, as in spirituality, not religion.

Selected Writings of Ralph Waldo Emerson

“The Wisdom of Insecurity” Alan W. Watts

Peace Pilgrim: Her Life and Work in Her Own Words

“The Ease of Being” Jean Klein

“The Empty Boat” Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh

“Man’s Eternal Quest” Paramahansa Yogananda

“The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying” Sogyal Rinpoche

“Total Freedom” Jiddu Krishnamurti

*

“The Book: On the Taboo Against Knowing Who You Are” Alan Watts

“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”
― Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

LF8A5983

Deviating slightly in a more Eastern direction, for the curious ones that feel drawn that way.

“Siddhartha” Herman Hesse

“Meditations” Marcus Aurelius

“The Way of Life” Lao Tzu

“The Upanishads”

“Buddhist Scriptures”

“Essential Chan Buddhism” Chan Master Guo Jun

“The Miracle of Mindfulness” Thich Nhat Hanh

“Tao Teh Ching” Lao Tzu

*

“The Tao of Pooh” Benjamin Hoff

“I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book.”
― Groucho Marx

LF8A5979

Completely changing the course, and sailing in more feminine waters. Not sure how relevant this selection will be to men, but I am a woman and little do I care ;-P

“The Dance” Oriah

“The Call” Oriah

“What We Ache For” Oriah

“The Artist’s Way” Julia Cameron

“Women Who Run With The Wolves” Clarissa Pinkola Estes

“Eros Ascending” John Maxwell Taylor

*

“The Invitation” Oriah

“Eating In the Light Of The Moon” Anita Johnston

“Grandmothers Counsel the World” Carol Schaefer

“A great book should leave you with many experiences, and slightly exhausted at the end. You live several lives while reading.”
― William Styron, Conversations with William Styron

LF8A5996

Books can be really good friends that help us get back to our own intuition/deeper knowing. We are all part of a larger whole and there is more to the collective consciousness, shaped by the media/the prevailing lifestyle/what we are told to read/buy/do/be. Where do you think writers get their thoughts/ideas? Do you ever ponder why the same concepts/insights have been expressed in so many different words in the span of so many centuries in time? Pick up a volume of  Jung and look up his definition of the collective unconscious… 😉

LF8A5975

Inevitably, returning to the universal… the language of LOVE.

“The Mastery of Love” Don Miguel Ruiz

“The Art of Loving” Erich Fromm

“The Selected Poems” e.e. Cummings

“Love” Leo Buscaglia

“Being in Love” Osho

“The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.”
― Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray

LF8A7775

Reaching out for knowledge is always a good thing. Don’t be satisfied by what is put on your plate by the external world, get a book, find a nook and look within. Good reads are essential for the mind/heart/soul just as good food is for the body. Nourish all of you.

{you can quote me on that, too – my words seem to be flowing tonight ;-)}

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”
― Charles William Eliot

LF8A7330

After 28 years of actively reading everything&anything that has come my way/I have felt drawn to, there is only one valuable insight I can share with you. Funny enough, it’s not even mine. Namely, “I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing.” Socrates 

There is such humility/inner peace that comes with knowing how little do we actually know and how everything is perfectly orchestrated by the whole. Just as we breathe without making any effort/consciously thinking about it we can also live in such a way, shaping ourselves after water and trusting the flow of life.

“Empty your mind. Be formless, shapeless like water. Now you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle, it becomes the bottle. You put water in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water my friend.”

~ Bruce Lee

LF8A7664

Keeping up an open mind and walking up to a blank page waiting to be filled with experiences (or not) every day is pretty refreshing/invigorating, to say the least… 🙂

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”
― Toni Morrison

P.S. I also recommend anything from the following authors:  Alan Watts, Wayne Dyer, Jorge Bucay, Paulo Coelho, Don Miguel Ruiz, Louise Hay, Eckhart Tolle, Jiddu Krishnamurti, Osho, Khalil Gibran, Richard Bach

P.P.S. All the books in bold I have read, the rest I have opened and not felt/resonated with just yet. Let me know if you want to borrow any, some of them I am ready to pass on.  Others I have graciouslly borrowed from friends – as much as I revel in books, they can never replace eye-to-eye communication. ♥

P.P.P.S. My go-to web spaces for new book inspiration: BrainPickings.org & Goodreads.com {all quotes from the latter}

Thank you for taking the time to read this post and happy future printed world explorations!

🙂

This entry was published on April 20, 2017 at 4:58 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Good Reads

  1. Bill Dodsworth on said:

    Slava,

    Wonderfully written, great quotes and love the cute teddy bear pics. Where do you find Bruce Lee, Socrates and Groucho quoted in the same blog!! Sorry to say I haven’t read any of the books but who knows I may read one now.

    Bill

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and comment, Bill!!! I really appreciate it!!! 🙂 I am a quote junkie – I love them so much!!! Let me know if you read one of the books in my list/how you like it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

