Self Restraint/Freedom

Self Restraint/Freedom is the name of the second photo series I shot this year. The black and white photos were taken in my attic, and the ones in color at Shaw’s Nature Reserve. What is the project about? Read on! 🙂

It’s amazing how many things you can do when you let yourself to. In the past year I have been observing many of my own insecurities or my friends’ fall away by merely facing them and dismissing them as something we no longer believe is true/valid. Not an easy thing to do, but definitely rewarding. Doing boudoir photography has allowed me a closer glimpse in the opinions we have of ourselves  – the way we look and the things we believe are capable/incapable of accomplishing. The image of who we are and what we can do is largely constructed by the thoughts and opinions of others – family, friends, acquaintances. However it does not always correspond to our true nature, the utmost inner core of our being we rarely connect with but know it’s there. This project was born in an attempt to show how vibrant life can be when we give ourselves permission to do the things we have always wanted to. Sometimes it is as simple as replacing the “I can’t” with “I can give it a try” and the “Why?” with “Why not?” Other times it requires us to slowly assert our new vision of ourselves over time with gentle reminders like “I am beautiful,” “I am worth it,” “It’s ok if I fail,” and “I can.” The transformation that takes places when we give ourselves the freedom to be who we are and do the things that we love is like a rebirth and puts us on the exciting journey of self-discovery.

The display at the Fall Art Walk at I.B Nuts & Fruit Too on Elm Street in Washington, MO.

The display at the Fall Art Walk at I.B Nuts & Fruit Too on Elm Street in Washington, MO.

Michelle – model, muse and artist –  is a wonderful friend who in the past year has allowed herself to pursue her long-time passion of modelling. Having gone through this process herself, she was able to fully understand and beautifully embody the message I’ve attempted to convey in this photo series.

1

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.40.55 PM

2

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.41.02 PM

3

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.40.47 PM

4

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.41.29 PM

5

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.41.19 PM

6.pg

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.51.03 PM

7

 

“When presented with this collaboration, I couldn’t refuse the opportunity to explore these emotions and create a visual series with a truly talented photographer and dear friend.  Many of us find ourselves struggling with the same recurring negative thoughts or the ever so common “I’ll be happy when…” statement. It’s easier than ever to spiral down this pattern with constant external pressures, social networking and media.  When we are actually able to visualize the impact of our own self-restrictions it has a deeper influence on the mind. We all deserve happiness from the inside – out, by taking time to enjoy the things we love and being kind to ourselves along the way. Over this past year such has been my personal journey –  freeing myself of self-doubt, criticism and blame, I’ve started to explore the true beauty of life and happiness.”

Michelle Bastet{model}

LF8A1084

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.41.44 PM

LF8A1576

It’s been wonderful to be part of Michelle’s journey and to watch her blossom and return to herself. She is not only an incredible model, but also a smart and sensitive soul I am happy to know!

This entry was published on November 24, 2015 at 2:13 am. It’s filed under Photo Series and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Self Restraint/Freedom

  1. These are beautiful Slava!

  2. Pingback: 2015 In Review: Where Have I Been, Where Am I Going | Slava Bowman Photography

Leave a Reply

