I Had My Photo Shoot Done And Now What? All You Need To Know About Ordering Your Photos

Lately I have been getting a lot of questions about ordering photos: how does it work, do you get a CD, what kind of CD do you get, etc. Deciding what prints to get and how to order them can be confusing, so here is a blog post about it!

Whenever somebody schedules a photo shoot with me, I always ask what do they intend to do with the pictures. Most people don’t have a clue, they just feel that they need to get their pictures taken. And that’s OK. However, if you do have a specific reason in mind for having your pictures taken, please share it!

Some people just want a few small prints to keep, others need the digital files for their website/promotional materials, or maybe they want to print some of the photos big on canvas or metal and use them for wall decor, or still others like to get a print of every photo and maybe assemble a photo book.

My job is not only to take your pictures, edit them, and give you the finished product, but also help you decide what is the best way for you to showcase the photos from your shoot and have them as keepsakes. So let’s review some of the most popular options and how they work 🙂

Capturing the photos is only a fraction of what goes into the finished product from your photo shoot.

Capturing the photos is only a fraction of what goes into the finished product from your photo shoot. Mr. Mac and I spend many a late nights together 😉

Option One: Ordering Prints

This should be pretty simple – you have your photos taken, I edit them and hand you a CD with files you can make prints from, and you go straight to Walgreens, or Wal-Mart. The pictures look amazing on my computer monitor, since I have spent hours editing them, but the prints you get are too dark, have a green tint, stick together and don’t look very good. You show them to friends and family anyway and think that maybe next time you will try another photographer. Not the best scenario, that’s why I don’t do that 🙂

After we get done with your photo shoot, it’s when the majority of my work begins. I sit in front of the computer and sift through all of the images from your session (hundreds or sometimes thousands). Then I pick out the best images and start editing them (enhancing the colors, contrast, removing blemishes, adjusting the light, etc). The post-processing is a creative task, that’s why it can take more time (I usually work on photos in the evening, that’s when my creative juices are flowing and there are less distractions). When I have achieved the desired results and I am happy with the way your photos look, I go through them one more time, adjust little details, and then I export the edited files and upload them to a private online gallery on my website. The website in turn is linked to a professional photo lab that allows you to order high quality prints online in the comfort of your home. Your gallery has plenty of edited images to choose from, and there is no pressure on my side to buy a specific number of prints or to spend a large amount of money. My print prices are very reasonable and affordable, because I want you to have prints from your photo shoot, and not just any prints, but high quality professional photos that showcase the work we have done together. You can also share your gallery password with family and friends and they can order their own prints and get them shipped to their home. I found this to be the easiest process of all, without compromising the print quality and making you order photos under pressure by asking you to pick the photos you want right after your shoot and editing only those. Whether is a couple of 4×6 prints you want, or a set of wallets, 5×7 prints, and larger formats, all is available to be ordered directly from the website in your own time.

Ordering high quality  paper prints from your private online gallery on my website is quite easy.

Ordering high quality paper prints from your private online gallery on my website is quite easy.

BUT WHAT ABOUT MY CD?

I will be happy to give you one. With every photo shoot I do I give a FREE CD with resized images (smaller images you can share online but not make prints from) with my logo. These digital files are great to show to family and friends on your computer, and to share on Facebook or in an e-mail. If you’d like to make prints from the CD, then we come to…

Purchasing the CD with high resolution edited images allows you to create your own photo products using third-party services.

Purchasing the CD with high resolution edited images allows you to create your own photo products using third-party services.

Option Two: Purchasing a CD with High Resolution Files

In other words, this means that if you’d like to have all images from your photo shoot and to be able to make unlimited number of prints from them whenever you want, you can buy a CD with the high quality edited files (high resolution images you can make unlimited number of prints from without my logo). This option is great if you love all the photos from your shoot and you want to make a lot of prints, or if you want to design your own photo book. The reason I sell the CD is because I believe that if you pay for it, you will be less likely to get low quality prints done. This CD comes with a print release and consumer photo lab recommendations.

Printing your pictures big always makes a difference.

Printing your pictures big always makes a difference.

Option Three: I Want to Order Wall Decor

If you are looking for a specific set of photos you’d like for your home, please let me know prior to your photo shoot so I can make sure we capture them. Photos look amazing printed big, and as tempting it is to order a 4×6 print of each shot, investing in a larger formal wall art is definitely worth it. You can order a large format paper/canvas/metal print directly from my website, or even better come and consult me. I can help you pick which photos from your shoot will go well together, recommend sizes and photo surfaces that will best suit your space, and order the prints through a local photo lab I use and save you money on shipping costs. If you would like to order wall decor yourself from a third party, then I recommend you purchase the CD with high resolution images.

Holding on to your digital files is always a good thing, just make sure you have them backed up.

Holding on to your digital files is always a good thing, just make sure you have them backed up.

Option Four: I Only Want The Digital Files

If you only need the digital files from your shoot, you can use the FREE CD I give you with small files with my logo or you can purchase the CD with high resolution images with no logo. However, please consider that CDs can get damaged, so make sure you transfer your photos on your computer and back them up. Also, having a print or two will never hurt.

Did you know that I can create throw pills, duvet covers, photo mugs, and calendars with your images? Just ask me :-)

Did you know that I can create throw pillows, duvet covers, photo mugs, and calendars with your images? Just ask me 🙂

The four options above do not exhaust all the possibilities the pictures from your photo shoot offer. If you’d like a photo book made I will be happy to design one for you. If you need just a single high resolution digital file, I will release it to you. My goal is to provide value, and value is based on need. So whatever your needs behind the photo shoot are, I want to make sure they get met. Don’t hesitate to discuss in advance why you are wanting your photos taken and what you hope to get from your session. In this way I can best advice you what kind of photo shoot we need to do and how you can go about ordering the products that you need.

Your photos can be turned into so many things! Every year I make a wall calendar form my grandma, because I know she loves it :-)

Your photos can be turned into so many things! Every year I make a wall calendar form my grandma, because I know she loves it 🙂

I am not into the photo taking business. I am in the creative field of capturing expressions and emotions and preserving them in time. If that’s what you are looking for, feel free to get in touch!

Capturing beautiful moments in time is why I love doing photo shoots!

Capturing beautiful moments in time is why I love doing photo shoots!

Why have your photos taken? Read more here.

Have more questions? Visit the FAQ page on my website.

Ready to book your photo shoot? Take a look at the different photo sessions I offer here and feel free to e-mail me at slavabowman@yahoo.com.

This entry was published on March 17, 2015 at 6:34 pm. It’s filed under Photo Sessions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

